One stop solution to daily needs
Founded in 2014, Swiggy is one of the leading food delivery platforms in India. Over the past few years it has developed into a one-stop solution for ordering food, groceries, dining out and local deliveries.
Casual: Twice a month
Core: 4-5 a month
Power: 4+ times a week
Instamart | Dineout | Genie | |
Core Value Props | Grocery delivery on your doorstep in under 10-20 minutes. Open from 6am - 3am* | Deals on dining at top restaurants across India | Send documents, packages, pick up something you’ve forgotten, deliver gifts to your loved ones, and more |
Casual | 2-3 times a month | Once a month | Once in a month |
Core | 6-8 times a month | 3-4 times a month | 1-2 times a month |
Power | 10-12 times a month | 5-8 times a month | 2+ times a month |
Engagement Framework | Key Tracking Metric | Selected | Rationale |
Frequency | No of orders placed in a month | Secondary | There is a limit to the numbers of orders a user can place in a month |
Depth | Monthly order value & no or orders placed | ✅ Primary | A customer with higher monthly order value indicates not just a higher AOV but it will also be an indicator or higher orders placed in a month. |
Breadth | No of orders placed on sub products | Secondary | It makes sense to track when a user is ordering from sub-products, though not all cities have all sub-products |
Actions that make a user an active user (+ frequency)
Any user who is placing at least 2 orders a month (it could be either for food or a mix of food and a sub-product)
ICP 1 | ICP 2 | ICP 3 | |
Name | Varsha | Varun | Vansh |
Age | 25-30 | 30-35 | 35-45 |
Gender | Female | Male | Male |
City | Delhi | Bangalore | Bangalore |
Income Bracket | 15-20 LPA | 25-40 LPA | 35-50 LPA |
Marital Status | Single | Married | Married |
Segmentation | Core | Power | Casual |
Sub-products used | Instamart, Dineout | Instamart, Dineout, Genie | Instamart |
Natural Frequency of Ordering | 4-5 times a month | 15-16 times a month | 2 times a month |
Average Order Value/transaction | 400-500/order | 700-800/order | 500-700/order |
Monthly order value | 5*400 = 2,500/per month | 16*800 = 12,800/month | 2*700 = 1,400/month |
Swiggy One user | Yes | Yes | No |
Advanced Segmentation | Loyalist | Champion | Hibernating |
Segment type of user: Casual user
Goal: Increase frequency of orders placed (migrate casual to core)
Pitch: We didn’t want to disturb you… just wanted to check if you have had lunch?
Offer: 20% off on your next two orders of Rs 200 and above.
Frequency & timing: Twice a week. Around noon.
Success metric: User clicks on the notification and places at least one order within two weeks.
Segment type of user: Core user
Goal: Migrate a core user to a power user by giving a trial of Swiggy One
Pitch: You’re the ONE for us! Here's a month of Swiggy One free for you.
Offer: 1 month free usage of Swiggy One
Frequency & timing: Once a week
Success metric: User's order frequency goes up by 60%. At the end of one month, user subscribes to Swiggy One.
Segment type of user: Power user
Goal: To increase frequency of orders placed in a week
Pitch: Who’s a cutie patootie? Youuuuuuu! Here’s something sweet for you.
Offer: Get 20% off on all dessert orders placed this week.
Frequency & timing: Monday & Tuesday. Around 2100 hrs
Success metric: A customer places at least 5 order for desserts within next 7 days.
Segment type of user: Casual user
Goal: To activate a hibernating user
Pitch: You’ve got mail! We've credited Rs 50 to your Swiggy wallet.
Offer: Offer valid until midnight. Min order value Rs 200.
Frequency & timing: Once a week.
Success metric: A customer who hasnt placed an order for last 30+ days uses the credits to place an order. And, orders again with next 2 weeks.
Segment type of user: Core user
Goal: To get a core user to try Genie (increase breath of engagement)
Pitch: Don’t leave us hanging. Swiggy Genie is patiently waiting for your instructions.
Offer: Up to 25% off on your first order
Frequency & timing: Once a fortnight
Success metric: A customer clicks on the notification and places an order within 1 day of notification.
As per estimates across different sources and websites, retention rate for Swiggy is around 60-65%, which has also been observed as the standard retention rate for food delivery apps in India.
For Swiggy, Power and Core users drive the best retention rates.
As per user research, Power users place at least 4+ orders in a week, which is a mix of food, Instamart and regularly use Dineout. For them, Swiggy is the primary app for food & grocery. Some power users have also been using Mini and Insanely Good, though the users are in limited numbers.
When it comes to Core users, they place around 5-6 orders a month. For these users, Instamart has been observed as the primary use and food deliveries are the second choice.
Swiggy One: In the user research it has been observed that all core and power users have subscribed to the Swiggy One plan, which is also an indicator for long-term users as well as brand affinity.
Instamart: Almost 90% of the survey respondents confirmed they use Instamart on a regular basis.
Dineout: Dineout is a big draw among those who love to go out with friends, family, office meetings.
Segment type of user: Hibernating/Almost churned user (no orders or app opening within last 30+ days)
Pitch: Long time, no see! We've missed you. 👀
Offer: 50% off on your next two orders. Min order value Rs 200.
Frequency & timing: Twice a week. To start once a user hasn't opened the app for 30+ days.
Success metric: The user places an order within 7 days of receiving the first notification.
Segment type of user: Frequent user of Instamart but no order in last 3 weeks.
Pitch: Dosa or Rajma Chawal?? What's cooking today? 🤔
Offer: 50% off up to Rs 100 on your next Instamart order. Min order value Rs 400
Frequency & timing: Twice a week. To start after 3 weeks of no orders on Instamart.
Success metric: User places an order upwards of Rs 400 within two days of second notification.
Segment type of user: At risk user (no orders in 14+ days), who stopped after giving a bad rating on play store.
Pitch: Satisfaction Guaranteed!! Nahee to paise wapas 🤑
Offer: Rs 100 off on your next two orders. Min order value Rs 400. Offer valid for two weeks.
Frequency & timing: Once a week. To be triggered on T+14 days after bad review and no order history for 2 weeks.
Success metric: Customer places the order within 3-5 days of the second notification
Segment type of user: Casual user who places an order after 2 weeks but gives a 1-star rating after delivery. (similar campaign can also be used for a core user who gives two 2-star ratings within a span of 3 days)
Pitch: We're sorry your last order didn't meet expectations.
Offer: We've added credits worth your last order in your Swiggy wallet. Credit valid until next 5 days.
Frequency & timing: Once. Soon after a casual user gives a 1-star rating
Success metric:
Segment type of user: A power user who hasn't renewed Swiggy One membership after T+30 days of expiry
Pitch: Here's a sweet deal for you. Buy annual Swiggy One membership and get 2 additional months free.
Offer: 2 months additional Swiggy One membership.
Frequency & timing: Twice a week. T+30 days of Swiggy One membership expiry date
Success metric: User renews annual Swiggy One membership within 10-15 days of first notification.
~ fin ~
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